Petlife logo

Painting for Pit Bulls

How my rescues taught me to paint.

By Abby DraperPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Painting of my dog surrounded by flowers.

I had a canvas stashed under my dresser for years. It was leftover from my "abstract" art phase when I painted a series of poorly blended gradient checkerboards. This was around the time I also created a diorama of a living room for a tiny gemstone penguin. I hammered the lid off a plastic and metal box so I could use the base as the display and remember thinking, "I'm a real artist now."

Years later, after moving into my first home and adopting my first pit bull, I decided to try to paint my dog. I started with just the face and it seemed plain, so I painted flowers and bees around him (this was fitting because he gets a fat lip from trying to eat them regularly). I was pleasantly surprised by the painting and similar designs have become my "style."

I practiced painting all of my friend’s and family’s cats and dogs and researched different types of flowers and plants to include in the backgrounds. I experimented with paint types, layering, and ventured into geometric backgrounds and other variations. I’ve also started using my art as a kind of study for types of plants and the regions where they grow, as well as entomology and discovering new and unique animals. One of my favorite things to paint now are moths and beetles and include their scientific names as if they’re preserved and displayed in a case.

As I branched out from friends and family, I decided to start selling my paintings so I could give back to the pups that started it all. I created the (extremely) small business, Pit-itful Portraits, and have painted more than 75 dogs, cats, reptiles, birds, insects, rabbits, rodents, and fish.

Acrylic painting of soft-shelled turtle on canvas.

I'm still learning, so I usually start with a printed picture of the pet that I cut out and trace onto a canvas or wood panel. After using my kitchen scissors for too long, I did some research and found the perfect scissors that are small and have a pointed end, so they're great for detailed cut-outs. I usually get embarrassed to say that I have to trace first, but a lot of the time, the sketches are comically terrible and I need to use acrylic paint to bring the pets to life. Nothing brings me more joy than putting that white dot of shine in their eyes. It seems like that dot on its own holds the key to their life and personality.

I never knew I could make a difference doing pet portraits, but I am able to donate to help pit bulls find forever homes and the medical care they need. Recently, I was also able to give a gift to one of my old college professors. I saw on a Facebook group that her dog, Chester, passed away, so I painted him and sent the portrait to her as a surprise. She sent me a thank you email including a picture of the painting displayed by the fireplace where Chester loved to sleep. I am grateful I'm able to do something I love and give back to others at the same time.

Acrylic painting of a Boston Terrier and flowers on a wood panel.

I've met and spoken with people I never would have without this hobby. I even appreciate the lady who called and texted with criticisms at least five times, because her suggestions made me better. I will also always have a conversation starter and something in common with others who love animals.

Thank you to my pit bulls, Bobby and Donnie, for barking incessantly at one particular neighbor, for pooping in inappropriate places, for nipping at visitors with love, and for being my inspiration.

Two pit bulls laying next to each other.

art
3

About the Creator

Abby Draper

I have a degree in Creative Writing but have not written for anything other than my marketing job in years. Vocal has inspired me to start creating again! I live with my husband and two pit bulls, as well as my hilarious step kids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.